Titling and Registering motor vehicles
The Marshall County Treasurer’s Office is an agent of the State of Kansas for registering and titling motor vehicles. We issue license plates upon receipt of proper documentation and submission of the correct fees. The fees include registration fees, personal property taxes, title fees and sales tax, if applicable.
Renewal notices are mailed out by the State of Kansas as courtesy reminders six (6) weeks prior to the expiration date of the license plate. They are NOT forwarded to address changes. Residents of Marshall County may renew tags by mail for a fee of 50 cents per vehicle in person at the Treasurer’s office. You may also renew your registration electronically at https://ikan.ks.gov or by calling 1-785-296-3621 if your insurance provider is a participating insurance company with the State of Kansas for electronic renewals.
State law requires applicants to provide proof of insurance on each vehicle being registered. This can be an insurance card issued by the insurance company, or a photocopy thereof, a binder of insurance, a motor carrier ID number issued by the state corporation commission, fleet insurance, or a certificate of self insurance issued by the Insurance Commissioner.
Initial Titling of Vehicles when purchased is another function of the office. In order to title a vehicle, the applicant must have an assigned title or Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin. The new owner has 30 days to bring the documents into the office for processing. After the 30 days, penalties will be assessed. The registration penalty is $1.00 per month. Interest is charged on the taxes at the current rate prescribed by law.
Documents needed to register a vehicle that is purchased or gifted with a Kansas Title or a Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin.
Clear title that is properly signed and includes the bill of sale and odometer statement.
Separate bill of sale needed if it is not included on the title
Kansas VIN Inspection, if the title is marked non-highway/salvage and you wish to tag the vehicle.
PROOF OF INSURANCE
Proof of sales tax paid if purchased from a Kansas dealer.
Notarized lien release
Affidavits dictated by paper work not in order
Vehicles with out-of-state titles must have VIN inspection done before the vehicle can be titled in Kansas. The procedure is checking for stolen vehicles and matches the VIN number on the car to the one on the title. This is not a safety inspection.
The inspection fee is $10.00 and is done at the Marshall County Sheriff’s office 8 am to 4 pm Monday thru Friday. Vehicles inspections (VINS) on non-highway or salvage titles are not done by the Sheriff’s office. Call 785-827-3065 to make arrangements with the Highway Patrol for inspection on these vehicles.
License plates for cars, pickups, motorcycles and RV’s in Kansas expire based on the first letter in the last name of the first person listed on the title as follows:
|Vehicle Tag Schedule
|Last Name begins with
||Tag expires at midnight on
||February 28 (or 29)
Heavy trucks and trailers renew January 1 thru February 28 (29).
Information for license plates for State Universities can be found at: www.ksrevenue.org/dmv-eduplates.htm
All Motor Vehicle Records are protected by Federal Privacy Act